Dude w/ZERO experience & no IT degree gets full-time tech job w/benefits in 22 days

Dude w/ZERO experience & no IT degree gets full-time tech job w/benefits in 22 days

A tech job hiring story

·

8 min read

Yes, this is a TRUE story: I really did get an entry-level tech job offer in 22 days. It's a full-time gig with all the benefits. Check my GitHub to see the full 22-day documented process.

On the 22nd day of starting my daily tech journal (well…I missed a day) on GitHub, I was offered the job.

Screenshot 2022-11-23 132540.jpg

I promised to write a more in-depth story about how I got hired here on HashNode. So, here's that story.

From Nothing to Job Offer

It’s true; I have absolutely zero job experience and zero formal education in the tech industry, and I still landed an entry-level job as a NOC technician at a tech company. And, no, I don’t live in Silicon Valley (a.k.a. tech startup central). I would faint at a mere glance at monthly rent costs, sheesh. I mean, few high-paying tech jobs can hardly afford the cost of living there, imma right?

What was I saying? Oh right, my company isn’t a new tech startup or a major tech company like Microsoft (sorry all those 60,000+ employees getting laid off by Meta, Amazon, Lyft, Uber, Twitter, etc. right now).

So, my new employer is an MSP/MSSP company. The typical employee tenure at this company is about eight years. Which I am realizing is rather remarkable for the fast-moving tech industry.

Sure, I sold some Android and iPhones at an AT&T store during my college days, but that’s a long shot from writing automation scripts in Bash/Python/PowerShell. The point is, I don’t have a byte of professional IT job experience, but I still was offered the position. Want to hear more? So here’s what went down.

My Pringle Tingle

Normally, most people apply online these days, right? I mean, you would think that online applications are the go-to inroad for employment, especially for a tech job. Nope. I ignored the online job posting I found on Indeed, and decided to go straight to the company headquarters. Hey, I was on the hunt for a job and nothing was going to stop me.

I pulled up to the main entrance, walked through the front doors of my future employer's company, and handed my resume off to the person who greeted me at the front desk. She gave my resume a quick once-over, mentioned something about how the company is currently looking to hire more technicians, and then thanked me for my time.

Handing in a resume is often anticlimactic. I drove to the location while rehearsing the most common interview questions, gave a stranger a piece of paper with some words on it, and then, it was over. Just like that. A simple good-day-to-you-sir, and off I went.

I mean, what else could a guy do? Demand to see the hiring supervisor like some Karen at McAlister’s mad about the dressing on her Savannah Chopped Salad?

No, that’s not quite the first impression I’m going for, but still, I had this lingering feeling like there was something more — like the crumbly bits of sour-cream-flavored chips at the bottom of the Pringles can. I felt an equivalent of Spider-man's precognition tingle — except in this case, it was my job opportunity sensing Pringle Tingle. Uneasy, I wasn’t sure if I should wait uninvited in the lobby or not. Opting not to lope around like an aimless idiot, I decided to return to my car.

Sitting — trying to act normal by looking down at my phone — I waited for an undetermined amount of seconds until I spotted activity through the glass doors. I saw a man down the shady hallway peering down at a single sheet of paper — was that my single-page typo-ridden resume he was reading? He was strolling from a side office room to the front building. At this point, he is waving. I wave back and step out of my vehicle.

Okay, so, my future employer is waving and smiling at me, and he asks, “Are you Ben.”

To which I reply smiling back, “Yep, that’s me.”

He adds, “Would you like to come back for a scratch interview in an hour?”

I reply with an even bigger grin, “Of course, I can be back in no time.” Be back in no time? Who am I, the Quickster from Spongebob Squarepants?

“Great, see you then,” my soon-to-be employer says as he steps back inside.

A little giddy from the exchange, I drive back home, mind racing. Turns out I might have a superpower after all. I’m Job-opportunity Man! Weird how we get certain vibes like that sometimes. Others call it a “gut feeling,” but I just like how Pringle Tingle rolls off the tongue.

Custom Domain Name Power

Anyway, when it comes time for the scratch interview, I drive back, and the same guy plus a new fella usher me into the conference room. The lights are off. He flips a switch to dispel the shadows of the room and remarks how good ol' Glenda, the previous secretary always used to make sure conference room lights were on every morning. Apparently, Glenda bounced at peak COVID season back in 2020 and they haven’t hired a replacement since.

We sit down and I slide a copy of my resume across the table. The head honcho makes a remark about good timing to which the second guy adds, “Yeah, impeccable timing!" The supervisor adds that my resume has all the technical terms they are looking for in new hires.

After chatting about fun tech-related stuff a third, quiet gentleman enters the conference rooms and reclines in a chair nonchalantly. One slides a copy of my resume over to him as I blab on about my home lab setup. After a pause in the conversation, Mr. Relaxed expresses how he likes my custom email address. He chuckled about the clever choice of “io” preceding the typical @domainname.com as the email handle.

The IT Manager interjects, “Yeah, I recommend that everyone should have their own custom domain.”

What felt like a casual tech conversation with friends ended and the scratch interview was over. Some hearty handshakes and friendly goodbyes were exchanged and I went home feeling good about my future overall. Just a few days later I would go in for the technical interview. And just a day after that, I would get a phone call and an email with a formal job offer — which I happily accepted.

My 2-cents Hiring Advice

So, now that you heard about my first steps into the professional tech world, I thought I would leave my 2 cents (just about what it’s worth coming from a tech newbie like me) about what I think it takes to get a tech job.

Ultimately, I think my story is another example of how anyone with determination and no tech degree can get a full-time job in the vast field of tech. Whereas most people cannot say they got a job 22 days after trying, that is a true story for me (see my GitHub contributions and count).

Nevertheless, I did walk away from the interview with some insights which are:

  1. Employers care more about your character than your certifications.

  2. Employers are looking for proven troubleshooting skills.

I was told that the company wants people who will fit in well with their work culture. Certain character traits they are looking for cannot be taught. As a result, not every personality will be a right fit for the job. Of course, this doesn’t mean you can’t get a tech job if you are an introvert or have some bad marks on your record. I just mean that being in tech requires a certain mindset.

Maybe you are reading this and think to yourself, “I want a tech job, too!” If that’s you, then that’s awesome! Your ambition and excitement for a challenge is an admirable and necessary attribute most tech professionals share in common. Every tech employer will look for people with an avid appetite to learn and improve their tech skills.

So, if you don't feel like you want to put in the work of advancing your tech skill set, and would rather just learn enough to maintain, I'm afraid you will get left behind and better tech jobs will pass you up in favor of someone else who has that drive. Hey, I get it, we all have lives and higher priorities. Know your limits. Access your commitment level before embarking on this tech journey.

If you don't like a challenge or the ever-changing nature of tech, perhaps the tech career path is not best for you. Do yourself a favor and opt for a career that best matches your lifestyle and passion. Alternatively, decide to commit to this path for 100 days (like I did), and just see what happens. Who knows, you might find you like it, and maybe you'll even get a stellar job offer in 22 days like me!

Sadly, the generic @gmail.com email you've had since grade school just won't impress your future tech employer. So, do yourself a favor and buy a cheap domain name + email hosting plan that you can put on your resume. Maybe you’ll find -- like I did -- that a custom email will (help) get you a tech job in 22 days!

By the way, if you are looking for more life hacks to level up your tech game, I totally recommend getting your own personalized email address for ($1.59/m).

Wishing you all the best!

PS. Embark with me on my journey into the illustrious tech industry by following me here on HashNode, LinkedIn, and/or Twitter!

P.P.S. Share your tech job hiring story and inspire others.